Sponsored By:
Learn More About Our Sponsors »

Tickets & 2016/2017 Shark Pass
Learn More »

Franklin Templeton Shootout 5K
presented by Greg Norman Estates
Learn More »

Official Broadcast Partners
View Schedule »

2016 Franklin Templeton Shootout Tournament Notes

NAPLES, Fla. (December 5, 2016) – For the 16th consecutive year, the Franklin Templeton Shootout comes to Tiburón Golf Club at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-person teams. The event is celebrating its 28th year on the PGA TOUR calendar. The tournament is the longest running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event. Here are some notes regarding what has become a favorite annual gathering for professionals, amateurs and fans:

Lexi Thompson, a seven-time winner on the LPGA Tour and the world’s No. 5 ranked player among ladies, will play with PGA TOUR rookie Bryson DeChambeau.

LPGA Tour Star to Compete: For the second time in tournament history, one of the stars in women’s golf will compete. Lexi Thompson, a seven-time winner on the LPGA Tour and the world’s No. 5 ranked player among ladies, will play with PGA TOUR rookie Bryson DeChambeau. The 21-year-old becomes the second LPGA Tour player to compete, joining Annika Sorenstam, who played with Fred Couples in 2006.

Winners: The 24 players in the field have a combined 11 victories in the past year on either the PGA TOUR or LPGA Tour. There are a total of 10 PGA TOUR victories and one LPGA Tour win. Russell Knox and Justin Thomas were two-time winners and Daniel Berger, Jason Dufner, Charley Hoffman, Smylie Kaufman, Kevin Kisner and Brandt Snedeker each won once. Lexi Thompson won the Honda LPGA Thailand.

World Rankings: Eight players in the field are ranked among the top 50 in the Official World Golf Rankings: Russell Knox (No.18), Matt Kuchar (No. 20), Justin Thomas (No. 22), Brandt Snedeker (No. 27), Kevin Chappell (No. 30), Daniel Berger (No. 31), Gary Woodland (No. 48) Kevin Kisner (No. 49).

FedExCup Champs: Two players in the field have won the FedExCup title in the past four years. Brandt Snedeker won it in 2012 and Billy Horschel in 2014.

Repeat Pairings Record: Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker, the 2009 champions, will be playing together for a record eighth time. Arnold Palmer and Peter Jacobsen were a team seven times as were Greg Norman and Steve Elkington.

Repeat Pairings Part II: Including Kelly and Stricker, a total of five teams who have previously played together will be reunited. Playing for the fourth consecutive year together are Harris English and Matt Kuchar, who have finished 1st and 2nd and 2nd since 2013. Defending champions Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker are paired together for the second consecutive year. Kenny Perry and Sean O’Hair, the 2012 champions, will be together for the fourth time. Charles Howell III and Rory Sabbatini, a runner-up team in 2012 will be playing together for the third time.

Most Appearances: Kenny Perry will be making his 14th start in the Franklin Templeton Shootout, the most among the 24 players in the field. Perry has won the tournament three times, also the most among the players in the field. Charles Howell III, Rory Sabbatini and Steve Stricker will be making their ninth appearance in the tournament.

Major Champions: Three players have won major championship titles during their careers—Lexi Thompson (2014 Kraft Nabisco), Jason Dufner (2013 PGA Championship) and Mike Weir (2003 Masters).

Total # of PGA TOUR Victories: As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 99 PGA TOUR victories during their respective careers. Kenny Perry leads in individual titles with 14. Steve Stricker has 12. K.J. Choi, Brandt Snedeker, and Mike Weir each have eight.

Top-Five Finishes: Kenny Perry has the most top-five career Shootout finishes among players in the field with nine. Perry shares the all-time record with Greg Norman and Mark O’Meara. The team with the most top-five finishes in tournament history is O’Meara and Curtis Strange. This twosome accumulated five solid performances between 1989 and 1996 including a victory in the inaugural Shootout.

2016 Ryder Cup Participants: Three players in the field were involved in the 2016 Ryder Cup matches. Here from the victorious United States team are Matt Kuchar and Brandt Snedeker along with assistant captain Steve Stricker.

Overall Team Competitions: There are 11 players in the field who have competed in the Presidents Cup for an overall total of 27 appearances in the biennial match play event between the United States and an International team. Steve Stricker and Mike Weir have the most appearances with five each. Five players in the field have participated in the Ryder Cup matches between the United States and Europe for a total of 16 appearances. Matt Kuchar and Luke Donald have the most appearances with four each.

International Flavor: Six different countries will be represented this week at the Franklin Templeton Shootout—Canada, Republic of Korea, England, Scotland, South Africa and United States.

First-Time Shootout Participants: Eight players forming four new teams will be competing for the first time in the Franklin Templeton Shootout—Bryson DeChambeau & Lexi Thompson; Smylie Kaufman & Justin Thomas; Kevin Chappell & Kevin Kisner; Luke Donald & Russell Knox.

First Time As Teammates: Seven of the 12 teams in this year’s Shootout will be together for the first time.

Rookie Winners: Eleven players have won the Franklin Templeton Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O’Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013) and Cameron Tringale (2014).

Format Reminder: The order of formats for each competitive round was modified in 2014 and is Scramble (Thursday), Modified Alternate Shot (Friday) and Better Ball (Saturday).

TV Schedule: This year, Golf Channel will televise Thursday (2-5 PM ET Live) and Friday (2-5 PM ET Live) and FOX will broadcast Saturday’s final round which will be live from 1-5 PM ET.


About Franklin Templeton Investments
Franklin Resources, Inc. [NYSE:BEN] is a global investment management organization operating as Franklin Templeton Investments. Franklin Templeton Investments provides global and domestic investment management to retail, institutional and sovereign wealth clients in over 180 countries. Through specialized teams, the company has expertise across all asset classes—including equity, fixed income, alternative and custom solutions. The company’s more than 600 investment professionals are supported by its integrated, worldwide team of risk management professionals and global trading desk network. With offices in 35 countries, the California–based company has more than 65 years of investment experience and over $733 billion in assets under management as of September 30, 2016.
About The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
The Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is renowned for its exceptional personalized service, inventive cuisine and luxurious accommodations, with panoramic views of the adjacent Greg Norman-designed Tiburón Golf Club. The 295-room Mediterranean-style resort, ranked as one of the top hotels in the U.S. by U.S. New & World Report is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburón. The course is the host location for both the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout, held in December and the LPGA’s CME Group Tour Championship, held in November.  

Click here to return to The Franklin Templeton Shootout News Index.

©Franklin Templeton Shootout. Tournament Managed by Wasserman Events, LLC. All Rights Reserved.