Sponsored By:
Learn More About Our Sponsors »

Tickets & 2016/2017 Shark Pass
Learn More »

Franklin Templeton Shootout 5K
presented by Greg Norman Estates
Learn More »

Official Broadcast Partners
View Schedule »

Franklin Templeton Shootout Field Announced

Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker to Defend Title
Final Round is Scheduled for Saturday, December 10

NAPLES, FL. (October 24, 2016) – Tournament host and World Golf Hall of Fame member Greg Norman announced today the 24 players set to compete in the 12-team competition at the 28th Franklin Templeton Shootout, scheduled for December 5-10, 2016.

Eight players will be competing for the first time as the longest-running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event returns for the 16th year to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.

A year ago, Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker birdied the last two holes to win by two shots over Harris English and Matt Kuchar.

Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker are scheduled to defend their title. Last year, the team birdied the last two holes in Saturday’s final round, better-ball format to win by two shots over Harris English and Matt Kuchar with a 30-under-par total. Team English and Kuchar have finished first, second and second the past three years and both are currently in the field.

Other past champions in the field include recently named World Golf Hall of Fame 2017 class member and victorious Ryder Cup captain Davis Love III, Ryder Cup assistant Steve Stricker, two-time champion Jerry Kelly and three-time FTS champion Kenny Perry and his 2012 partner Sean O’Hair.

The eight players who will be competing for the first time in the Franklin Templeton Shootout include LPGA standout and the fourth ranked female golfer in the world Lexi Thompson, yesterday’s CIMB Classic winner Justin Thomas, former World No. 1 Luke Donald, two-time 2016 winner Russell Knox, reigning RSM Classic winner Kevin Kisner, TOUR Championship runner-up Kevin Chappell, reigning Shriners Hospitals for Children Open winner Smylie Kaufman and TOUR rookie Bryson DeChambeau.

Other players returning to the Shootout include eight-time TOUR winner K.J. Choi, 2014 FedExCup champion Billy Horschel, 2016 Valero Texas Open winner Charley Hoffman, 2016 FedEx St. Jude Classic winner Daniel Berger, two-time TOUR winner and eight-time Shootout participant Charles Howell III, two-time TOUR winner Gary Woodland and six-time TOUR winner Rory Sabbatini.

The 24 players in the field have a combined 11 victories in the past year on either the PGA TOUR or LPGA Tour. There are a total of 10 PGA TOUR victories and one LPGA win. Knox and Thomas were two-time winners and Berger, Dufner, Hoffman, Kaufman, Kisner, Snedeker each won once. Lexi Thompson won the Honda LPGA Thailand. Collectively, the field has 112 career PGA TOUR victories and seven LPGA victories.

Norman, who founded the tournament in 1989, played in the Shootout a tournament-record 24 times. He will compete in the Tuesday and Wednesday pro-am event.

The pairings for the 12, two-person teams will be announced in early November.

Throughout its history, the Franklin Templeton Shootout has included many of golf’s greatest players. As a premier PGA TOUR post-season event, the Shootout will once again feature a different format during each competitive round --- Scramble (Thursday), Modified Alternate Shot (Friday) and Better Ball (Saturday). This year, Golf Channel will televise Thursday and Friday live from 2 - 5PM ET and FOX will broadcast Saturday’s final round which will be live from 1 - 5 PM ET.

For the latest Franklin Templeton Shootout news and information; visit our website www.franklintempletonshootout.com, like us on Facebook www.facebook.com/franklintempletonshootout and follow us on Twitter @FTshootout.


Daniel Berger Kevin Chappell K.J. Choi
Bryson DeChambeau Luke Donald Jason Dufner
Harris English Charley Hoffman Billy Horschel
Charles Howell III Smylie Kaufman Jerry Kelly
Kevin Kisner Russell Knox Matt Kuchar
Sean O'Hair Kenny Perry Rory Sabbatini
Brandt Snedeker Steve Stricker Justin Thomas
Lexi Thompson Mike Weir Gary Woodland


About Franklin Templeton Investments
Franklin Resources, Inc. [NYSE:BEN] is a global investment management organization operating as Franklin Templeton Investments. Franklin Templeton Investments provides global and domestic investment management to retail, institutional and sovereign wealth clients in over 180 countries. Through specialized teams, the company has expertise across all asset classes—including equity, fixed income, alternative and custom solutions. The company’s more than 600 investment professionals are supported by its integrated, worldwide team of risk management professionals and global trading desk network. With offices in 35 countries, the California–based company has more than 65 years of investment experience and over $733 billion in assets under management as of September 30, 2016.
About The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples
The Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples is renowned for its exceptional personalized service, inventive cuisine and luxurious accommodations, with panoramic views of the adjacent Greg Norman-designed Tiburón Golf Club. The 295-room Mediterranean-style resort, ranked as one of the top hotels in the U.S. by U.S. New & World Report is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburón. The course is the host location for both the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout, held in December and the LPGA’s CME Group Tour Championship, held in November.  

Click here to return to The Franklin Templeton Shootout News Index.

©Franklin Templeton Shootout. Tournament Managed by Wasserman Events, LLC. All Rights Reserved.